Nora Aunor, Ricky Lee, And Marilou Diaz-Abaya Among The List Of National Artists For 2022

National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) have announced the list of National Artists for 2022. Prominent names in the arts and culture industry to receive the award include Nora Aunor, Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Ricky Lee, Tony Mabesa, Agnes Locsin, Soprano Fides Cuyugan-Asensio, Salvacion Lim-Higgins, and Gemino Abad.

Congratulations to all awardees and I join everyone who collectively let out a WOOHOOO upon learning the news of Superstar Nora Aunor finally being proclaimed as a National Artist. 👏👏🙌🙌

The issuance of Proclamation 1390 was confirmed by National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) in their respective Facebook posts on the night it was signed.

Nora Aunor, who is Nora Cabaltera Villamayor in real life, was hailed as National Artist for Film and Broadcast Arts. Aunor shared the honor with screenwriter Ricardo Lee and the late director Marilou Diaz-Abaya. Her contributions to the film and broadcast arts depicted the Filipinos’ “everyday realities and aspirations” in some of the most important Filipino films, such as “Himala”, the FDCP said.

On the other hand, Lee was acknowledged for writing iconic films, such as “The Flor Contemplacion Story” and “Sa Kuko ng Agila”, while Diaz-Abaya was recognized for movies such as “Brutal” and “Jose Rizal”. Lee and Diaz-Abaya’s works formed part of the “Second Golden Age of Cinema”.

Actor-director Tony Mabesa was proclaimed National Artist for Theater for his contributions to the “growth and diversity of Philippine theater.”

Choreographer Agnes Locsin was named National Artist for Dance for spurring a “growing interest in neo-ethnic style among young artists.”

Soprano Fides Cuyugan-Asensio was acclaimed as a National Artist for Music for contributing to a “Renaissance of classical musical theater in the country.”

The late couturier Salvacion Lim-Higgins, who “masterly innovated and transformed the national costume into a world-class silhouette,” was honored as National Artist for Fashion Design.

Literary critic Gemino Abad was declared National Artist for Literature for providing future generations with a “comprehensive view of the landscape of Philippine poetry and fiction.”

The new National Artists is the second batch declared under the leadership of Duterte.

The declaration was made upon the joint recommendation of the NCCA and the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

The National Artist Award, created under Proclamation 1001 issued on April 27, 1972, is the highest national recognition given to Filipinos who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the development of Philippine arts.

Each national artist will receive a gold-plated medallion minted by the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas and a citation, according to the guidelines issued by the NCCA. (SOURCE)

Dexie Jane

Mother of 2. She drinks coffee everyday and wine on the weekends. She devours massive amount of chocolate, pork, and sushi. She loves to dance in her living room and binge-watches KDRAMA, historical dramas, and excessive unhealthy dose of Crime/Murder mysteries/dramas/documentaries. She's also a proud Bibliophile and loves being a bargain fashionista & SHOEHOLIC!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.